Al's Run Leaderboard Littered With Current and Former Marquette Runners

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Al's Run Photo Gallery

MILWAUKEE - Current Marquette University runner Anna Weber and former runner Scott Mueller claimed individual titles on Saturday, Oct. 9 in Al's Run. Mueller finished the 8-kilometer run in 25 minutes, 33 seconds, to place 17 seconds ahead of the second-place finisher. Weber was the only female to break the 30-minute barrier with a time of 29:37. 

"Overall it was a great experience for a great cause," said cross country head coach Mike Nelson. "We were excited for the opportunity as it has been a tradition for Marquette cross country and track and field in the past and it was a great opportunity for us to field some runners. I was really happy with how they performed." 

Behind Mueller, eight current male track and field student-athletes finished in the top 25 of the race, led by junior Jack Hackett in third place with a time of 26 minutes. Assistant coach Kyle Cameron also participated and placed sixth in a time of 26:47.

On the women's side, nine Marquette runners, including Weber, placed in the top 25. Jayne Grebinski, Marquette's top finisher at the 2009 BIG EAST Conference Cross Country Championships and the school record holder in the outdoor 5,000-meter run, placed fourth in 30:28.

Nelson was also in action this weekend, finishing the Chicago Marathon in 2:55.35.

The Marquette University men's and women's cross country teams return to action on Saturday, Oct. 16 at the NCAA Pre-National Invitational in Terre Haute, Ind.

Marquette-Affiliated Runners


1. Scott Mueller, 25:33 (Overall and 25-29 Division Winner)

3. Jack Hackett, 26:00

5. Chris Spudic, 26:26

6. Kyle Cameron, 26:47

9. Dominick Rosario, 27:04

11. Zack Young, 27:24 (U18 Division Winner)

15. A.J. Gedwill, 27:36

16. Mitch Lacy, 27:37

17. Billy Schlottke, 27:40

19. Avery Sternglass, 28:10

25. Zack Grese, 28:46


1. Anna Weber, 29:37 (Overall and 19-24 Division Winner)

4. Jayne Grebinski, 30:28

5. Claire Guidinger, 30:40 (U18 Division Winner)

6. Kristine Pelzel, 30:43

7. Grace Magliola, 30:59

8. Rebecca Pachuta, 31:12

14. Ashley Sellers, 32:55

17. Holly Robertson, 33:19

18. Melissa Budelier, 33:27

20. Hannah Frett, 33:37

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About Me
"On The Record" is the official blog of Marquette Athletics, maintained by the department's media relations staff. The blog will be the exclusive home for behind-the-scenes access to each of the University's 14 NCAA Division I programs, including daily updates, videos, photos, podcasts and much more.
MU Athletics on Facebook
MU Athletics on Twitter
MU Athletics on YouTube
MU Athletics RSS Feed


Big East NCAA Marquette University Learfield