Marquette University to Present Milwaukee Women's Sports Leader of the Year Award

Feb. 21, 2001

MILWAUKEE - The Marquette University Athletics Department will honor Carol Wolter with the seventh annual Milwaukee Women's Sports Leader of the Year Award, sponsored jointly by Marquette and Conference USA.

Wolter will receive the award for more than 40 years of service to women's and girls' athletics at a halftime ceremony during the Feb. 23 women's basketball game between Marquette and Saint Louis at the Milwaukee Auditorium at 7 p.m.

This award is presented to individuals who continually contribute to the development of girls and women's sports in the Milwaukee area.

Wolter spent 37 years as girls athletic director at Milwaukee Lutheran, a position she held until 1997. She established field hockey, basketball, volleyball and softball as varsity sports and produced winning teams on the court. She won WISAA state championships in volleyball in 1975 and 1977. As a basketball coach, she was 101-5, won five league titles and ended her basketball coaching career with an 87-game winning streak. She also served as varsity track and cheerleading coach at Milwaukee Lutheran.

Off the court, Wolter was a champion for women's and girls' athletics. She was vital in the addition of women's sports being added to the Metro Conference and WISAA in 1975, and was the first woman named Athletic Director of the Year by the WISAA. Wolter has also served as a field hockey, volleyball, basketball and softball official at the high school and collegiate levels.

"During her 40 years of service at Milwaukee Lutheran, Carol has had a tremendous impact on girls athletics at our school, statewide, and even nationally," current Milwaukee Lutheran Athletic Director Matt Pankow stated in his nomination letter. "She has impacted the lives of thousands of young women by providing them with opportunity, motivation, and instruction so they could participate in athletics."

Wolter is the seventh recipient of the Milwaukee Women's Sports Leader of the Year. Previous winners are:

2000 David Flanagan, Wisconsin Competitive Girls Soccer League 1999 Stacey Roberts, Divine Savior-Holy Angels 1998 Myrth Jeske, Oak Creek High School 1997 Mary Ryan, University of Wisconsin-Waukesha 1996 Keith Noll, Wisconsin Amateur Athletic Union 1995 Shirley Martin, Long-time AAU and Club Coach



bid today online auctions
| View Full Schedule