Novak and Goranson Earn Senior Athlete of the Year Honors

May 19, 2006

MILWAUKEE - Senior men's basketball player Steve Novak and women's soccer player Heather Goranson were named the 2006 Ralph H. Metcalfe Senior Outstanding Athletes at the Senior Athletic Awards Banquet this evening held on Marquette's campus.

A consummate winner, Novak helped lead Marquette's men's basketball program to 85 wins, four post season appearances and the 2003 Final Four during his four years. Following his freshman season he was named Conference USA Sixth Man and Freshman of the Year, and for the 2005-06 season he was one of just four unanimous first team All-Big East selections. Novak also earned national acclaim by being named one of the 22 finalists for John R. Wooden Award, college basketball's equivalent to the Heisman. He leaves the men's basketball program as one of only six players all-time to record 1,500 points and 500 rebounds.

Goranson appeared in 89 games for the Golden Eagles during her four-year career, tallying eight goals and nine assists - for a total of 25 points. She moved from midfielder to a defense position and helped comprise one of the top backlines in the country in 2005, yielding less than a goal per contest, as the Golden Eagles went 19-4-2 overall and 9-2 in BIG EAST play en route to a Sweet 16 appearance in the NCAA Championship. Following the 2005 campaign, Goranson was selected to the 2005 NSCAA/adidas Scholar All-Central Regional First Team. For her outstanding efforts in the classroom she also was named to the 2005 NSCAA/adidas College Women Scholar All-America Second Team.

Heather Goranson

In other awards handed out this evening, David Henderson of men's track and field and Heidi Pfeiffer of volleyball earned the Ralph H. Metcalfe Senior Scholar Athlete Award,and men's tennis player Ian Kawas and women's soccer player Lindsay Michuda were honored with the Ralph H. Metcalfe, Sr. Leadership and Service Award.

Taking home the Cura Personalis award were Matt Piekarski and Terri Emond of men's and women's track and field.

2006 Senior Athletics Award Winners

Ralph H. Metcalfe, Sr. Outstanding Athlete Award
Steve Novak
Heather Goranson

Ralph H. Metcalfe, Sr. Leadership and Service Award
Ian Kawas
Lindsay Michuda

Ralph H. Metcalfe, Sr. Scholar Athlete Award
David Henderson
Heidi Pfeiffer

Cura Personalis Award
Matt Piekarski
Terri Emond


bid today online auctions
| View Full Schedule