Munzenmaier Selected To Receive Hy Popuch Award

Nov. 26, 2008

MILWAUKEE -- Athletic department officials announced today that Diane Held Munzenmaier, Ph.D has been selected to receive the 2008 Hy Popuch Award. The honor, created by the Marquette University M Club, annually recognizes an individual's commitment to service and loyalty to MU athletics.

Dr. Munzenmaier will be presented with the award during the men's basketball game against IPFW at the Bradley Center on Dec. 13.

Since 1990, Dr. Munzenmaier has served on the M Club's Board of Directors, holding various appointments during her tenure including president (1997-99), vice president/president elect (1996-97) and secretary (1993-96).

Additionally, Dr. Munzenmaier has been a member of various committees and was a member of the Hall of Fame Committee for both the 1999 and 2006 inductions. She is a regular attendee of club events and athletic contests and has been a perennial annual fund donor.

Dr. Munzenmaier received her biology degree in 1984 and has been in the cardiovascular physiology department at the Medical College of Wisconsin since 1995.
While athletic achievement is not part of the award's criteria, Dr. Munzenmaier was a five-time All-American at MU and was a member of the 1982 NAIA National Championship Cross Country Team, which is in the Hall of Fame. In 2007, she organized the 25th reunion of that team. She lettered in both cross country and track.

The award is named for Hy Popuch, a former M Club president and recipient of the M Club Man of the Year Award in 1974. The award name changed from "Man of the Year" to the "Hy Popuch Award" in honor of Popuch.

- Link to Hy Popuch Award history


bid today online auctions
| View Full Schedule