Ebert and Holland Honored by the BIG EAST

Feb. 22, 2017

BIG EAST Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Male | Female

NEW YORK – Marquette University senior Erin Holland and redshirt junior Nicholas Ebert were named Marquette’s Institutional BIG EAST Female and Male Scholar-Athletes of the Year, presented by Sunkist, the conference’s Academic Affairs Committee announced on Wednesday. Both will receive a $2,000 graduate scholarship.

Erin Holland, a senior women’s soccer player, started all 22 matches on defense for the Golden Eagles this season, who won their sixth BIG EAST regular season title and advanced to their 13th NCAA Championship. In her career, she started 54 of 62 matches, while recording 11 points on four goals and three assists.

Holland is a three-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team selection and is Marquette’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President, while also serving as the BIG EAST’s NCAA SAAC representative. The marketing major is a seven-time College of Business Dean’s List honoree. She also participated in the NCAA’s Career in Sports Forum in Indianapolis during the summer of 2016.

Nicholas Ebert, a redshirt junior long sprinter on the men’s track and field team, is a three-time All-BIG EAST performer in the 4x400-meter relay and helped Marquette capture its first-ever BIG EAST outdoor team championship last May.

The Chaska, Minnesota, native and physiological sciences major is a three-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team selection and holds the No. 7 mark all-time at Marquette in the outdoor 400 meters with a time of 48.18 seconds. Ebert was a member of the school-record setting 4x200-meter outdoor relay team (1:28.12) and was the anchor leg on the second-fastest 4x400-meter indoor relay (3:15.58) in school history.



David Goldsmith of Butler and Lauren Smith of Creighton were named the overall BIG EAST Scholar-Athletes of the Year and will receive a $4,000 scholarship, which may be applied to graduate or post-graduate studies.

Twenty student-athletes (one male and one female from each of the BIG EAST’s 10 member institutions) were also named as BIG EAST Institutional Scholar-Athlete award winners.


bid today online auctions