Armstrong Qualifies for NCAA Indoor Championships

Feb. 27, 2018

NCAA Championships Schedule of Events

MILWAUKEE – Marquette University sophomore high jumper Daniel Armstrong has qualified for the 2018 NCAA Indoor Track & Field National Championships set to take place in College Station, Texas, Friday-Saturday, March 9-10.

Armstrong, who won the BIG EAST indoor title for the second time, recorded a winning jump of 2.20 meters (7-2.5 feet) and was named the BIG EAST Field Athlete of the Meet. The mark proved to be just enough to break into the nation’s top-16 slots available to compete at the NCAA Indoor Track & Field National Championships.

— Marquette TF/XC (@MUTFXC) February 24, 2018

The Michigan City, Indiana, native joins a distinguished and historic list of successful Marquette high jumpers. The most recent was Wally Ellenson (’16), who was a four-time All-American, including a trip to the 2015 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships where he placed third.



There was Ed Burke, who was a two-time AAU All-American in the indoor high jump in 1936 and 1937. At the 1937 meet held at Madison Square Garden in New York City, Burke set the indoor world high jump record with a height of 6 feet, 9.25 inches. He then earned NCAA All-American status in 1938.

Ken Wiesner, who broke the world indoor high jump record on three separate occasions, was a three-time NCAA high jump champion. He won titles in succession from 1944-46, and on his third and final trip to nationals, he successfully cleared a winning height of 6 feet, 8 3/8 inches.

Wiesner’s lifetime-best mark was 6 feet, 11 inches and he went on to compete for the United States in the 1952 Summer Olympics in Helsinki, Finland, where he won the silver medal. 

Armstrong is set to compete in the NCAA indoor men’s high jump final on Saturday, March 10. The event is slated to begin at 3:30 p.m. Central time.

Keep up with the Marquette track and field program through social media by following on Twitter (@MUTFXC) and Instagram (@MUTFXC) and `liking' on Facebook (/MUTFXC). 

List of entries (high jump)

  1  Vernon Turner                 FR Oklahoma              2.33m
  2  Trey Culver                   SR Texas Tech            2.33m
  3  Keenon Laine                  JR Georgia               2.27m
  4  Randall Cunningham            SR USC                   2.26m
  5  Brenton Foster                SO Manhattan             2.24m
  6  Darius Carbin                 SO Georgia               2.24m
  7  Shelby McEwen                 SO Alabama               2.24m
  8  Javen Reeves                  SR Louisville            2.23m
  9  Landon Bartel                 SR Nebraska              2.23m
 10  Jah-Nhai Perinchief           JR Arkansas              2.22m
 11  JuVaughn Blake                FR LSU                   2.22m
 12  Grant Anderson                SR Nebraska              2.21m
 13  Tequan Claitt                 JR E. Kentucky           2.21m
 14  Ryan Lockard                  SR Minnesota             2.21m
 15  Daniel Armstrong              SO Marquette             2.20m
 16  Tyler Adams                   SR Sam Houston           2.20m 


bid today online auctions