Grill and Pashibin share Marquette's McCahill Award

The pair were honored on Jan. 14 at the men's basketball game against DePaul.
Dec. 14, 2016

Past McCahill Award Winners | WATCH: 70th McCahill Award Recipients

Photo Gallery

MILWAUKEE – Former Marquette University men’s lacrosse player B.J. Grill and women’s track and field athlete Tatyana Pashibin are the recipients of the 70th Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award, the highest honor bestowed upon an MU student-athlete.

Grill is the first men’s lacrosse player to earn the honor, while Pashibin is the 10th women’s track and field athlete to be recognized and the first since M Club Hall of Fame member Brianna Dahm in 2005. The award last had two recipients in 2006 when men’s basketball player Steve Novak and current MU women’s basketball coach Carolyn Kieger shared the honor.

“B.J. and Tatyana exemplify what we expect from Marquette student-athletes,” Marquette Vice President and Athletics Director Bill Scholl said of the pair. “Both accomplished a great deal athletically during their careers, helping their teams to the first BIG EAST Conference championships in their respective program history and being honored for their individual greatness. They also excelled in the classroom and made Marquette and the surrounding community a better place through their selflessness and concern for others.”

Grill was selected to the All-BIG EAST First Team in both 2014 and 2015, and was named a USILA Third Team All-American for his efforts as a graduate student in 2016. The Bridgewater, New Jersey, native served as team captain each of his final two seasons for the Golden Eagles, and was an integral part of Marquette’s BIG EAST Championship crown and first NCAA tournament appearance last year.

“From the moment we arrived on campus our program always looked to the McCahill Award as something that we coveted, even more so than any championship,” MU men’s lacrosse head coach Joe Amplo said. “That’s an indication of who we are as a program and there is no better person to be the first men’s lacrosse player to win the award than B.J. Grill. He epitomizes everything that our program and this university is about: hard work, discipline, commitment, excellence. All things that I think Marquette Athletics stands for, B.J. Grill stands for.”

A two-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team selection and 2015 USILA Scholar All-American, Grill was also one of five lacrosse student-athletes to be honored as a Senior CLASS Award First Team Senior All-American in 2016. The Senior CLASS Award is an honor which focuses on the totality of the student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform as athletes to make positive impacts in their community. He ended his career second all-time at MU with 55 caused turnovers and registered 29 ground balls in 2016.

Grill was selected in the 2016 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft by the Denver Outlaws, whom he helped to the MLL Championship as a rookie starting defenseman. Grill played in 10 regular season contests after joining the squad and posted 26 ground balls and 10 caused turnovers on the year. He is currently finishing up his MBA in Marquette’s College of Business and serves as the director of lacrosse operations on Amplo’s staff.

During his playing career, Grill assisted in coaching the Milwaukee Eagles wheelchair lacrosse team, comprised of disabled and able-bodied United States veterans and was involved with numerous other volunteer activities. He helped at various events with Jakub West from the Friends of Jaclyn Foundation as well as walks and runs for charity, toy drives, Hunger Clean Up and Habitat for Humanity. He also earned the 2015-16 BIG EAST Sports Excellence Award for men’s lacrosse in honor of his excellence in the classroom, on the field and in the community and Marquette’s Ralph H. Metcalfe Outstanding Senior Male Athlete Award following his final campaign.

A four-year letterwinner at Marquette who served as team captain during her junior and senior seasons, Pashibin led the women’s track and field team to its first-ever BIG EAST indoor and outdoor team titles during the 2015-16 season.

“Tate Pashibin is someone who is the perfect example of what a student-athlete should be,” said Marquette head track and field coach Bert Rogers. “She is a gifted athlete who won multiple BIG EAST individual titles in different events. She is a scholar in every sense of the word. She is a leader, a team captain who earned the respect of her teammates and led the women’s team to their first BIG EAST indoor and outdoor team titles.

“And, probably most importantly, she is a good person who is now striving to make a positive difference in the world,” Rogers added. “I couldn’t be more proud of Tate and the difference she made here at Marquette.”

She was voted the team’s most outstanding freshman after her debut season and continued to put up top marks throughout her career. Pashibin currently holds the No. 3 mark all-time at Marquette for the indoor high jump, which still stands as the Marquette freshman record. She also holds top-10 marks in the triple jump, long jump and pentathlon. Pashibin holds top marks on the outdoor list as well, ranking sixth all-time in the high jump and 10th in the javelin.

Pashibin finished her career as a five-time All-BIG EAST selection and three-time BIG EAST champion, winning the 2014 indoor pentathlon and outdoor heptathlon along with the 2015 outdoor high jump. She was a USTFCCCA All-Academic honoree and a four-time BIG EAST All-Academic selection.

An exceptional student, Pashibin completed her degree in exercise physiology with a 3.92 grade-point average. She earned the University’s President’s Award and Ralph H. Metcalfe Senior Leadership & Service Award at the Marquette senior awards banquet last spring and was named the BIG EAST Scholar Athlete of the Year in women’s track and field.

In addition, she was the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee track and field representative, where she assisted in the decision-making for student-athlete affairs, worked with the planning of service and fundraising events, and was instrumental in the organization’s sexual violence awareness campaign.

Pashibin was an avid volunteer in the community, highlighted by her efforts with the Special Olympics of Wisconsin, Campus Kitchens Project, United Neighborhood Centers of Milwaukee, Al’s Run, along with many more volunteer opportunities throughout her four years at Marquette.

About the Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award:

The McCahill Award was named after Captain Robert L. McCahill, a former Marquette student-athlete who gave his life for his country at the Battle of Iwo Jima during World War II in 1945. Established by his brother, Colonel William P. McCahill, also an MU student-athlete, the award was first presented in 1946 and has been awarded annually as the highest honor bestowed upon a Marquette student-athlete.

After Colonel McCahill's death in 1999, Marquette University officially renamed the award to recognize the lifetime accomplishments of both Captain Robert and Colonel William McCahill.

The award is given annually to a student-athlete who has achieved in athletics, scholarship, and service to the university.

Past recipients of the award include Olympic silver medalist John Bennett (1954), two-time NBA All-Star Don Kojis (1961), Naismith Award-winner Butch Lee (1978), and NCAA 10,000-meter run champion Keith Hanson (1986).






bid today online auctions