Men's Basketball
Golden Eagles Celebrate 2009-10 Season At Team Banquet

Senior David Cubillan made a couple of trips to the podium Wednesday night.

Senior David Cubillan made a couple of trips to the podium Wednesday night.

April 14, 2010


Milwaukee - Over 500 people attended the Marquette University men's basketball team banquet Wednesday night at the Al McGuire Center, honoring the accomplishments of the 2009-10 squad in a new "awards show" format.

Following a social period allowing fans the ability to interact with all of the players and coaches, including the opportunity for autographs and photos, the group gathered to view the season highlight video and awards presentation.

Steve "The Homer" True, the radio voice of the Golden Eagles, served as the evening's host. Each award had a presenter, three nominees and a winner. A number of the accolades had video highlights (courtesy of Sports32 and Tri-Marq) to support each of the players nominated.

The evening concluded with remarks from head coach Buzz Williams.

2009-10 Award Winners

"Rebounding Effort" Award - Lazar Hayward
Hank Raymonds Sportsmanship Award - Junior Cadougan
"Create for Others" Award - Maurice Acker
Dwyane Wade Legacy of Leadership Award - David Cubillan
"Sixth Man of the Year" Award - Dwight Buycks
Standard of Excellence Student-Athlete Award - Rob Frozena
Most Improved Player - Jimmy Butler
Wesley Matthews "Just Today" Award - David Cubillan
Golden Eagle "Everyday Tough" Award - Lazar Hayward
Defensive Player of the Year Award - Darius Johnson-Odom
"WDYL?-1%" Award - Joseph Fulce
Best Performance In A Supporting Role - Pat Idstein (Manager)
Most Valuable Performer - Lazar Hayward
Best Choreography In A Leading Role - Buzz Williams (Walk It Out)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Big East NCAA Marquette University Learfield