Henry Ellenson Named To Karl Malone Award Watch List

Henry Ellenson won the dunk contest at this year's Marquette Madness.
Oct. 13, 2015

release courtesy Basketball Hall of Fame

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its second year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“In terms of power forwards who have had a significant impact on the game of basketball, Karl Malone is at the top of the list,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “When it comes to consistent play, ‘The Mailman’ always delivered and we are delighted to include him in this recognition of the best power forwards in the game today.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

“I’m grateful and honored to be recognized by the Basketball Hall of Fame and these 20 candidates should be as well,” said Karl Malone, a 2010 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “Three finalists from last season [Ellis, Niang and Wiltjer] are returning to the watch list and I look forward to seeing how they have improved their games in the off season.”

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2016 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 8, 2016. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.



Last season, Montrezl Harrell of Louisville was named the inaugural winner of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. For more information on the 2016 Karl Malone Award, log onto www.HoophallAwards.com.

2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Rico Gathers, Baylor
Taurean Prince, Baylor
Ivan Rabb, California
Tony Parker, UCLA
Dorian Finney-Smith, Florida
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Perry Ellis, Kansas
Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette
Henry Ellenson, Marquette
Shaq Goodwin, Memphis
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Beejay Anya, North Carolina State
Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Markus Kennedy, Southern Methodist
Jameel Warney, Stony Brook
Jordan Loveridge, Utah
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Anton Grady, Wichita State

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.


bid today online auctions