Van Sickle Named Finalist For Nelson Award

Mike Van Sickle

May 6, 2009

MILWAUKEE -- Marquette University senior Mike Van Sickle has been announced as one of five finalists for the 2009 Byron Nelson Award presented by Cleveland Golf/Srixon. Van Sickle joins Peter Malnati of Missouri, South Dakota State’s Trent Peterson, Cameron Tringale of Georgia Tech and Matthew Van Zandt of Texas A&M as finalists for the prestigious honor, announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).
Candidates for the Nelson Award must be graduating seniors and the selection committee considers equally a nominee’s entire collegiate academic and golf career, in addition to his character and integrity. Consideration is also given to a nominee’s good citizenship, as portrayed by legendary golfer Byron Nelson, whom the award is named.
Van Sickle is Marquette’s all-time leader in career scoring average (71.65), tournament victories (11) and career rounds of par-or-better (85) while posting 24 top-five finishes in his career as a Golden Eagle. This year’s BIG EAST Conference Player of the Year currently leads NCAA Division I in wins (5), scoring average (69.67) and birdies (160), among other statistical categories.
A three-time BIG EAST Academic All-Star, Van Sickle carries a 3.3 grade point average and will graduate later this month with a degree in broadcast communications. Van Sickle was named a Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar by the GCAA in 2008 and was one of only 11 recipients also ranked among the top 50 golfers in the nation, according to the final Golfweek/Sagarin ratings.
Finalists – 2009 Byron Nelson Award presented by Cleveland Golf/Srixon
Peter Malnati, Missouri
Trent Peterson, South Dakota State
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Mike Van Sickle, Marquette University
Matthew Van Zandt, Texas A&M




bid today online auctions