Van Sickle Named to All-Nicklaus Team

June 18, 2009

MILWAUKEE – The most-decorated golfer in Marquette history, Mike Van Sickle, earned national recognition yet again when the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) recently announced he was named to the 2009 All-Nicklaus Team. Van Sickle is one of 20 NCAA Division I, II, and III and NAIA players to be recognized for their outstanding play during the past collegiate season.  

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008 and was named after legendary golfer Jack Nicklaus, a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Following a successful collegiate career at Ohio State, Nicklaus went on to claim 73 PGA Tour victories and won 18 major championships. He was named PGA Tour Player of the Year five times.
Van Sickle ranked among the national leaders this year in wins (5), scoring average (70.00) and birdies (165), among several other statistical categories, and was named 2009 BIG EAST Player of the Year. He won three straight tournaments during the fall season, including the prestigious Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic in El Paso, Texas, where he closed with an 8-under-par 63 in the final round and defeated Oklahoma State’s Trent Leon in a six-hole playoff.

In addition to owning several school records -- including collegiate victories (11), scoring average (71.65) and rounds of par-or-better (86) – Van Sickle posted 24 top-five finishes in 48 collegiate events as a Golden Eagle.

2009 All-Nicklaus Team
Bennett Blakeman, Illinois Wesleyan
Jorge Campillo, Indiana
Bud Cauley, Alabama
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene
Matt Ewald, Washburn
Mitchell Fedorka, La Verne
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Matthew Giles, Southern California
Matt Hill, NC State
Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State
Billy Horschel, Florida
Jake Koppenberg, Western Washington
Anthony Michael, Oklahoma City
Cory Renfrew, British Columbia
Josh Schrader, Methodist
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Nick Taylor, Washington
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
Brent Witcher, Valdosta State




bid today online auctions