B.J. Grill Named a Senior CLASS Candidate

B.J. Grill was MU's first commitment and has been a leader since his arrival on campus in 2011.
Feb. 16, 2016

Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Graduate student B.J. Grill was named a candidate for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award on Tuesday afternoon, becoming the first Marquette University men’s lacrosse player to earn recognition.   

Grill is one of twenty top NCAA men’s lacrosse student-athletes selected as candidates for excellence both on and off the playing field.

The Bridgewater, New Jersey native is a two-time All-BIG EAST First Team selection on defense and a 2016 Inside Lacrosse Preseason Faceoff Yearbook Third Team All-American. The two-time team captain and Major League Lacrosse draft pick graduated in May of 2015 with a bachelor’s degree in political science and is currently pursuing a master’s in leadership from Marquette’s Graduate School of Management.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.



The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2016 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

Men’s Lacrosse Candidates:
Scott Bieda, Rutgers
Paul Bitetti, Detroit
Jack Bobzien, Denver
Carter Brown, Ohio State
Dylan Donahue, Syracuse
Matt Dunn, Maryland
Casey Eidenshink, Lehigh
B.J. Grill, Marquette
Robby Haus, Ohio State
Kyle Karaska, Massachusetts
Jack Kelly, Brown
Walker Kirby, Harvard
Dan Lomas, High Point
Joseph Radin, Marist
James Rahe, Robert Morris
Pat Swanick, Saint Joseph's
Morgan Westby, Lafayette
Tyler White, Towson
Sean Wilkinson, Holy Cross
John Winchell, Saint Joseph's


bid today online auctions