Gately again Named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Gately is Marquette's all-time leader in points and assists.
Feb. 23, 2016

Tewaaraton Foundation Release

NEW YORK – Marquette University senior attackman Conor Gately was named to the 2016 Tewaaraton Award watch list, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Tuesday evening.

“This just further emphasizes the fact that people think Conor is one of the better players in the country and we certainly feel the same way,” Marquette head coach Joe Amplo said. “He’s one of our leaders on offense and deserves this recognition.  I truly believe that he could compete for this award if we have a good season and he continues to play the way we know that he can.”

Gately is the only player in Marquette history to be selected to the watch list and was also listed last year during his junior campaign. The Yorktown Heights, New York native is the Golden Eagles’ all-time leader in points (109) and assists (49) and ranks second to teammate Kyle Whitlow with 60 career goals.

The senior attackman was selected unanimously to the 2016 All-BIG EAST Preseason Team prior to this season and was a second team all-conference honoree in 2015. As a junior, Gately posted career highs with 39 points and 25 goals, while leading the Golden Eagles to a program-record 10 victories.

The Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour, is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award. The award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse players in the United States.  The award selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed by The Tewaaraton Foundation.



The award watch lists consists of 50 men’s and 50 women’s nominees across all three divisions of lacrosse. Players not selected to the initial list will have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions will be announced on March 17 and April 7, if applicable. On April 28, the watch list will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch list or not on the watch list, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 12. The finalists will then be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on June 2.

The Golden Eagles (1-0) return to action on Saturday Feb. 27 at Richmond in a contest slated for 11 a.m. Central time.

Keep up with the Marquette men’s lacrosse program all season long through social media by following on Twitter (@MarquetteMLax) and Instagram (@MarquetteMLax) and ‘liking’ on Facebook (/MarquetteLacrosse).


bid today online auctions