Gately Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Gately is the first MU player ever named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List.
Feb. 26, 2015

Tewaaraton Watch List

NEW YORK - Marquette University junior attackman Conor Gately is one of 50 individuals named to the 2015 Tewaaraton Award Watch List, The Tewaaraton Foundation announced Thursday evening.

Gately is the first Marquette player in program history to earn mention on the watch list and is the Golden Eagles' second leading scorer in 2014 with six goals and five assists. The native of Yorktown Heights, New York is second in MU history with 78 points through 31 career games and is the program's all-time leader with 39 assists.

"It is nice a nice recognition for Conor, but it is more of a team recognition in that we have been fortunate to have success as a program," Marquette head coach Joe Amplo said. "Conor is one of the guys who has received some notoriety because of our success."

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committee is made up of premier collegiate coaches and is appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch lists additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 19 and April 9. On April 23, the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the ceremony. The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 28, 2015, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.



The Golden Eagles resume action at the Midwest Classic Lacrosse Weekend in Louisville, Kentucky against Detroit on Friday, Feb. 27 and Ohio State on Sunday, March 1. Both games will be played at Owsley B. Frazier Stadium and hosted by Bellarmine University.


bid today online auctions