DeMichiei a candidate for Senior CLASS Award

Marquette’s second-leading scorer carries a 3.5 GPA as an accounting and finance double major
March 9, 2017

Senior CLASS Release | DeMichiei's Senior CLASS Bio

OVERLAND PARK, Kansas – Marquette University attackman Andy DeMichiei has been named as a candidate for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award for men’s lacrosse, it was announced on Thursday morning.

DeMichiei is one of 20 men’s nominees selected as candidates for an award that celebrates student-athletes who excel both on and off the field. The Pittsburgh native holds a 3.5 grade point average as a double major in both accounting and finance and is MU’s second-leading scorer this season. In his career, DeMichiei has started 27 of the 51 games in which he has appeared and scored a career-high 17 goals as a junior in 2016 while leading Marquette to its first BIG EAST Conference tournament title and NCAA Championship appearance.

He is the second Marquette men’s lacrosse player to be honored with the recognition, following B.J. Grill, who was one of five players named a Senior CLASS Award First Team Senior All-American in 2016.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 



The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2017 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Lacrosse Candidates

Alexander Bohl, Robert Morris
Christian Burgdorf, Denver
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver
Christian Carson-Banister, Boston
Isaiah Davis-Allen, Maryland
Andy DeMichiei, Marquette
Scott Firman, Syracuse
Charles Giunta, Saint Joseph
T.J. Jones, Saint Joseph
Jake Knostman, Fairfield
Michael LeClair, High Point
Dylan Molloy, Brown
Kyle Mummau, Bryant
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame
Austin Pifani, North Carolina  
J.D. Recor, Marist
Eric Scott, Yale
Shane Taggert, Saint Joseph
Cody Triolo, Lehigh
Tommy Voelkel, Hofstra


bid today online auctions