Charlie Lyon Earns 69th McCahill Award

Charlie Lyon was a three-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection and three-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team member.
Feb. 9, 2016

McCahill Award Winners

Former Marquette University men’s soccer player Charlie Lyon is the 69th recipient of the Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award, the highest honor bestowed upon an MU student-athlete.

The St. Charles, Illinois, native helped put the Marquette men’s soccer program on the national map after guiding the Golden Eagles to back-to-back NCAA Championship appearances. He became the fourth player in program history to be selected in the MLS SuperDraft when he was taken by the Seattle Sounders in the fourth round in 2015.

“The McCahill Award represents everything a Marquette student-athlete should aspire to be on and off the field, and Charlie Lyon serves as another fantastic example of that,” Marquette Vice President and Director of Athletics Bill Scholl said. “His dedication and commitment to excellence on the field, in the classroom and in his community will leave a lasting impact on the men’s soccer program and the athletic department. He is a great example to all future student-athletes at Marquette University.”

A biomedical sciences major who graduated with a bachelor’s degree in December 2014, he was a three-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection and three-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team member. Lyon finished his career with 29 shutouts, the most in program history, and was Marquette's all-time career leader in goals against average (0.83) and save percentage (.811).

“It’s a very prestigious award with historical significance and we’re very proud of Charlie being the recipient of this award,” 10th-year Marquette head men’s soccer coach Louis Bennett said. “This award is very fitting for a lot of the things that Charlie stood for. He’s a man of great honor, loyalty and commitment. He not only held himself accountable to these attributes, but he held his teammates accountable as well, making him into the wonderful leader that he has become.”



As a captain during his final season in 2014, he set a program record with eight consecutive shutouts from Sept. 5 through Oct. 11, including a stretch of 804:58 minutes without conceding a goal (also a school record). He was named a 2014 Senior CLASS Award Second Team All-American, a 2014 Capital One Academic All-American First Team selection and named the 2014 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

In 2013, Lyon led MU to its first-ever BIG EAST Tournament Championship and sealed a berth in the NCAA Championship, where he tallied five saves in the program’s first NCAA tournament victory over Akron.

The McCahill Award was named after Captain Robert L. McCahill, a former Marquette student-athlete who gave his life for his country at the Battle of Iwo Jima during World War II in 1945. Established by his brother, Colonel William P. McCahill, also an MU student-athlete, the award was first presented in 1946 and has been awarded annually as the highest honor bestowed upon a Marquette student-athlete.

After Colonel McCahill's death in 1999, Marquette University officially renamed the award to recognize the lifetime accomplishments of both Captain Robert and Colonel William McCahill.

The award is given annually to a student-athlete who has achieved in athletics, scholarship, and service to the university.

Past recipients of the award include Olympic silver medalist John Bennett (1954), two-time NBA All-Star Don Kojis (1961), Naismith Award-winner Butch Lee (1978), and NCAA 10,000-meter run champion Keith Hanson (1986).

Lyon joins five other men’s soccer players who have received the award and is the first recipient since Scott Ziemba in 1997.

Marquette Men’s Soccer Winners:
1974 – David Lugert
1975 – Richard Rock
1979 – Michael Banahan
1985 – Patrick Sorentino
1997 – Scott Ziemba
2015 – Charlie Lyon


bid today online auctions