Men's Soccer
No. 12 Marquette to Face No. 1 Indiana Thursday

Dennis Holowaty and the Golden Eagles prepare for a big preseason test Thursday when they take on defending national champion Indiana


Dennis Holowaty and the Golden Eagles prepare for a big preseason test Thursday when they take on defending national champion Indiana

Aug 20, 2013

MILWAUKEE – Marquette University men’s soccer will wrap up its preseason slate on Thursday, Aug. 22 at the Shindigz National Soccer Festival in Fort Wayne, Ind., where the No. 12 Golden Eagles are scheduled to face top-ranked and defending national champion Indiana.

All matches will be played at Hefner Soccer Complex located on the IPFW campus. For more information on the event, or how to purchase tickets, visit nationalsoccerfestival.com.

Kickoff against the No. 1 Hoosiers, who topped Georgetown 1-0 in the championship game of the 2012 College Cup, is set for 6 p.m. Central time (7 p.m. ET) following Michigan State vs. No. 4 North Carolina (4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET).

MU will host the Michigan State Spartans later during the regular season (Sept. 15) as well as travel to fellow National Soccer Festival participant Xavier, one of three new members of the BIG EAST Conference in 2013, in the league opener on Sept. 28.

In addition to great soccer, activities include live music and entertainment, tailgating, food vendors, giveaway prizes and a beer tent for those who are 21 years of age or older.

Marquette play an alumni match at its home pitch, Valley Fields, on Saturday, Aug. 24 before opening the regular season at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in the annual Milwaukee Cup match scheduled for Friday, Aug. 30 at the Panthers’ Engelmann Field.


 

 

Auctions
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Big East NCAA Marquette University Learfield