Marquette Student-Athletes Collect BIG EAST Men's Soccer Awards

Axel Sjoberg garnered All-BIG EAST Second Team and All-Rookie Team accolades, it was announced Thursday

Nov. 8, 2012

MILWAUKEE – Four members of the Marquette University men’s soccer team received recognition from the BIG EAST Conference, the league announced Thursday. Bryan Ciesiulka, Andy Huftalin and Axel Sjoberg were named to the All-BIG EAST Second Team, while Sjoberg and John Pothast garnered all-rookie team honors.

Huftalin currently leads the team in points (24) and goals (10) as a senior striker. He has scored a team-best four game-winning goals, including the decisive tallies in a 3-2 win over then second-ranked Connecticut, a 2-1 double-overtime win versus Wisconsin and a 1-0 victory against Northern Illinois to help the Golden Eagles improve to 12-0-0 on the season.

Ciesiulka has registered 18 points on eight assists and five goals. As the central attacking midfielder, he has been instrumental in the team’s offensive success in 2012. MU, which has already matched a single-season program record with 16 wins, enters this weekend ranked fifth in NCAA Division I in points (124), sixth in goals (41) and third in assists (42).

A 6-foot-7 central defender, Sjoberg has contributed on both sides of the pitch in his redshirt freshman season. He, along with Pothast, have helped anchor a backline that has tied a single-season team record with 10 shutouts. Sjoberg has also added 19 points on eight goals and three assists. He is second among all defenders in NCAA Division In goals scored.

Pothast is one of three freshman defenders in the starting lineup under seventh-year head coach Louis Bennett. In addition to his ability to defend one-on-one, Pothast found the back of the net in each of Marquette’s first two BIG EAST Conference matches and has five points on the season.



Marquette is the fourth seed in the Blue Division and will play Georgetown (No. 2 Blue) in a BIG EAST semifinal match on Friday, Nov. 9, at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. Both teams are 16-2-1 overall.

2012 BIG EAST Men’s Soccer Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Ryan Finley, Notre Dame, Sr., F

Goalkeeper of the Year
Andre Blake, Connecticut, So., GK

Defensive Player of the Year
Andrew Farrell, Louisville, Jr., D

Midfielder of the Year
Carlos Alvarez, Connecticut, Sr., MF

Rookie of the Year
Brandon Allen, Georgetown, Fr., F

Coaching Staff of the Year

Team Fair Play Award
Notre Dame

All-BIG EAST First Team^
Carlos Alvarez, Connecticut, Sr., MF
Andrew Blake, Connecticut, So., GK
Mamadou Diouf, Connecticut, Jr., F
Jossimar Sanchez, Connecticut, Sr., D
Antonio Aguilar, DePaul, Sr., F
Ian Christianson, Georgetown, Sr., MF
Steve Neumann, Georgetown, Jr., F
Paolo DelPiccolo, Louisville, Sr., MF
*Andrew Farrell, Louisville, Jr., D
*Ryan Finley, Notre Dame, Sr., F
Dillon Powers, Notre Dame, Sr., MF
Rafael Diaz, St. John’s, R-Jr., GK
Jack Bennett, St. John’s, Sr., D

All-BIG EAST Second Team^
Brandon Allen, Georgetown, Fr., F
Tomas Gomez, Georgetown, So., GK
Jimmy Nealis, Georgetown, Sr., D
Will Vitalis, Louisville, R-So., F
Bryan Ciesiulka, Marquette, Jr., MF
Andy Huftalin, Marquette, Sr., F
Axel Sjoberg, Marquette, R-Fr., D
Mael Corboz, Rutgers, Fr., MF
Kene Eze, Rutgers, Jr., F
Tim Parker, St. John’s, So., D
James Thomas, St. John’s, Jr., MF
Kyle Soroka, Villanova, Sr., F

All-BIG EAST Third Team
Stephane Diop, Connecticut, Sr., MF
Tommy Muller, Georgetown, Sr., D
Greg Cochrane, Louisville, Sr., MF
Dylan Mares, Louisville, R-So., F
Nick Besler, Notre Dame, So., MF
Harrison Shipp, Notre Dame, Jr., F
Grant Van DeCasteele, Notre Dame, Sr., D
Wilder Arboleda, Providence, R-Jr., MF
Jordan Murrell, Syracuse, So., D
Jordan Vale, Syracuse, Fr., MF
Oscar Umar, Villanova, So., MF

All-BIG EAST Rookie Team^
Richardo Israel, Cincinnati, D
Adria Beso, Connecticut, MF
Brandon Allen, Georgetown, F
Marlon Hairston, Louisville, MF
John Pothast, Marquette, D
Axel Sjoberg, Marquette, D
Patrick Hodan, Notre Dame, MF
Max Lachowecki, Notre Dame, D
Mael Corboz, Rutgers, MF
Mitchell Taintor, Rutgers, D
Alex Bono, Syracuse, GK
Jordan Vale, Syracuse, MF
Sean Sheridan, Villanova, D

^Extra members due to ties in voting
*unanimous selection


bid today online auctions