Golden Eagles Conclude Play At Season-Opening Milwaukee Tennis Classic

Sept. 20, 2009

Milwaukee -

Complete Milwaukee Tennis Classic Results

The Marquette University men's and women's tennis teams concluded play at the 34th Annual Milwaukee Tennis Classic Sunday afternoon, wrapping up the three-day event with singles and doubles competition at Western Racquet Club.

The women's squad opened play with doubles action against Western Michigan. MU swept all three of the matches, highlighted by an 8-3 victory by the duo of juniors Rachael Hush and Christina Ruiz at the No. 1 spot. The tandem finished the weekend 3-0 and as a result claimed the event's women's doubles championship.

The afternoon concluded with action by the women's team against Wisconsin. The two teams split the six matches, with MU posting wins at the No. 2, No. 3 and No. 5 positions. Sophomores Olga Fischer and Gillian Hush finished off their respective Badger opponents in a tiebreaker while Ruiz collected a 6-4, 7-5 decision over Angela Chupa in the final match of the day.

Freshmen Jacob Straus and Otavio Perim claimed singles victories against Northwestern. Straus made quick work of Chris Jackman at the No. 6 spot, earning a 6-4, 6-4 decision. Perim pulled away for a tiebreaker victory over Alex Sanborn at the No. 3 spot and finished his debut weekend with a pair of wins. The Golden Eagles also came up short in a pair of tiebreaker matchups, with seniors Mark Rutherford and Dusan Medan getting edged at the No. 1 and No. 2 positions, respectively.



The men's team concluded the tournament with doubles action against in-state rival Wisconsin. The Badgers swept all three matches, including a 9-8 decision over Straus and Medan at the top spot. The UW duo of Patrick Pohlmann and Chris Freeman claimed the tourney's doubles runner-up trophies with the win.

Individual/Team Awards
Men's Singles Champion: Cliff Morrison (BST)
Men's Singles Runner-up: Eric Spector (NW)
Women's Singles Champion: Alexa Guarachi (ALA)
Women's Singles Runner-up: Paulina Bigos (ALA)
Men's Doubles Champion: Alex Sanborn/Spencer Wolf (NW)
Men's Doubles Runner-up: Patrick Pohlmann/Chris Freeman (UW)
Women's Doubles Champion: Rachael Hush/Christina Ruiz (MU)
Women's Doubles Runner-up: Alexa Guarachi/Paulina Bigos (ALA)
Chas Mulcahy Sportsmanship Award: Rachael Hush/Gillian Hush (MU), Cliff Morrison (Ball State)


bid today online auctions