Blockton, Hiedeman Named to Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List

Nov. 7, 2017

Complete Release

SPRINGFIELD, Mass.--Marquette University women's basketball's Allazia Blockton and Natisha Hiedeman have been selected to the watch list for the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award given to the top shooting guard in the country in collegiate women's basketball.

The honor marks the second major preseason honor for Blockton, as the BIG EAST named her the unanimous conference preseason player of the year. She was a unanimous selection to the All-BIG EAST first team after last season and was BIG EAST Freshman of the Year. The Milwaukee native has climbed the scoring ranks after only two seasons, as her 1,126 career points put her 21st all-time in Marquette history. Blockton is on-track to surpass the program record 1,940 career points set by Krystal Ellis.

Hiedeman has also achieved a high level of success in her two years as a Golden Eagle. The Green Bay native was an All-BIG EAST Honorable mention in 2016-17 and is a member of the preseason All-BIG EAST team. Hiedeman has been prolific from deep, ranking 10th in team history with 142 triples made.

The Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 watch list members Tuesday afternoon. Marquette is the only college with two players on the list and the Golden Eagles are joined by fellow BIG EAST conference players Akina Wellere from St. John's, Ashton Millender from DePaul and Jovana Nogic from Providence. The list will be narrowed down to 10 players in mid-February before the final five finalists will be chosen in March. From there the selection committee will chose one player to win the award. The winner will be announced at the inaugural women's basketball awards ceremony taking place at the Women's Final Four in Columbus, Ohio.

This year marks the first time the Hall of Fame will award the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. Drysdale played for UCLA from 1974-78 and was the first woman at any university to receive an athletic scholarship.




bid today online auctions