Women's Soccer
Hayward and Miller Named 2010 Ralph H. Metcalfe Senior Outstanding Athletes

Lazar Hayward

Lazar Hayward

May 21, 2010

MILWAUKEE - Men's basketball player Lazar Hayward and women's soccer player Katie Miller were named the 2010 Ralph H. Metcalfe Senior Outstanding Athletes Friday evening at the Senior Athletics Awards Banquet held at Marquette's Alumni Memorial Union.

Forward Lazar Hayward concluded his Marquette career as one of the top performers in school history. An Honorable Mention All-America selection by the Associated Press, the Buffalo, N.Y., native finished among MU's all-time leaders in seven different categories. He is the school's second all-time leading scorer (1,859 points) and finished fifth in rebounding (910 boards).

Miller, a defender, was an integral member of the BIG EAST American Division Champion women's soccer team that posted a single-season record 16 shutouts. Miller helped the Golden Eagles to the program's eighth NCAA Tournament appearance and its first-ever division title in 2009. Marquette's 2009-10 BIG EAST Scholar Athlete honoree, Miller was also named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District Five First Team presented by ESPN The Magazine and was named to the NSCAA/adidas Scholar All-Central First Team in both 2008 and 2009.

In other awards handed out Friday evening, men's soccer player Tom Lynn and women's soccer player Kelly Wepking earned the Outstanding Male and Female Student Awards. Men's tennis player and Student Athlete Advisory Committee President Mark Rutherford and distance runner Jayne Grebinski, one of the top 3,000-meter steeplechase runners in the nation, were honored with the Senior Leadership and Service Award.

Taking home the Cura Personalis Award, voted by the student-athletes, was Michael Greene of the men's soccer team. The Cura Personalis Award, presented by the SAAC, recognizes the athlete whose attitude throughout their athletics career exemplifies the Jesuit spirit of Cura Personalis and demonstrates a commitment to the athletics program's mission of excellence in academics, athletics and leadership through service to others.



Ralph H. Metcalfe
Ralph H. Metcalfe was known as the world's fastest human from 1932-34. Metcalfe was the NCAA champion in the 100- and 200-yard events in 1932-34 and he broke or tied every world record from 40-220 yards. For five consecutive years (1932-36), he captured the AAU 200-meter title, the Central Collegiate Conference 100- and 220-yard crowns and the Drake Relays 100-yard honors in each of his three varsity seasons at Marquette. Metcalfe served as senior class president and was the captain of the MU track team in 1934. He placed second in the 100 meters and third in the 200 meters in the 1932 Olympics, and came back in the 1936 Olympics to finish second in the 100 and help the U.S. win the 400-meter relay.

After his college career, he joined the armed forces and served in World War II. After he got out of the army, he went go on to a life of public service and was a congressman for the state of Illinois.

He was inducted into the National Track and Field Hall of Fame in 1975 and an inaugural member of the M Club Hall of Fame in 1972.

2010 Ralph H. Metcalfe, Sr. Awards
Outstanding Senior Male Athlete Award - Lazar Hayward
Outstanding Senior Female Athlete Award - Katie Miller
Outstanding Senior Male Leadership & Service Award - Mark Rutherford
Outstanding Senior Female Leadership & Service Award - Jayne Grebinski
Outstanding Senior Male Student Award - Tom Lynn
Outstanding Senior Female Student Award - Kelly Wepking
Cura Personalis Award (SAAC) - Michael Greene

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Big East NCAA Marquette University Learfield