Morgan Proffitt on MAC Hermann Watch List

July 20, 2016

NSCAA Press Release

KANSAS CITY, Missouri - Marquette University senior Morgan Proffitt has been named to the watch list for the 2016 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual award in college soccer, it was announced on Wednesday.

The list is compiled by the NSCAA Women's NCAA Division I All-America Committee, based on analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

Proffitt is one of 38 women's honorees, joining Georgetown's Rachel Corboz and Butler's Serina Kashimoto as representatives from BIG EAST Conference programs.

Proffitt recently competed with the United States Under-23 Women's National Team in a four-team Under-23 Women's Nordic Tournament in June at St. Georges Park, England where the Americans captured the tournament crown. Proffitt was one of 19 NCAA Division I players on that 20-person roster, which included 12 individuals also named to this year's watch list.

"To be nominated among the nation's best is a fantastic honor for Morgan and recognition for what she has done over the past three seasons," head coach Markus Roeders said.  "Morgan is one of the elite players in the country and we are excited to see what's ahead for our senior captain.  She has worked tremendously hard to excel at this level and her future is very bright."

Proffitt was a NSCAA All-Northeast Region selection in 2015 after earning All-BIG EAST First Team honors on defense and was as a second team all-conference selection in 2014. The Columbus, Indiana native scored three goals as a junior and earned BIG EAST weekly recognition on three occasions, including a pair of defensive player of the week honors.



Proffitt follows in the footsteps of former Marquette women's soccer players Megan Kelly (2012), Kerry McBride (2011) and Laura Boyer (2006) on the MAC Hermann Watch List.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches whose programs are current NSCAA College Services members will vote and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced on Friday, Jan. 6, 2017, during the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, and news and video from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit

Keep up with the Marquette women's soccer program all season long through social media by following on Twitter (@MUWomensSoccer) and Instagram (@MarquetteWSOC) and `liking' on Facebook (/MUWomensSoccer).


bid today online auctions