Women's Tennis Travels to No. 50 Purdue and No. 45 Indiana

Jan. 28, 2011

MILWAUKEE - The Marquette women's tennis team will be tested early in dual play with back-to-back road matches against nationally ranked teams in No. 50 Purdue and No. 45 Indiana this weekend.

Marquette will face the Boilermakers on Saturday, Jan. 29 at Noon ET/11 a.m. CT and play the Hoosiers on Sunday, Jan. 30 at 10 a.m. ET/9 a.m. CT.

No. 50 Purdue (1-0), which opened its season with a 6-1 over Cincinnati Saturday, boasts two nationally ranked doubles pairs in Mara Schmidt/Jennifer Rabot (No. 13) and Bhavani Tirumurti/Imogen Golder (No. 68). The Boilermakers return seven of eight letterwinners from last season's squad which finished No. 49 in the nation with a 17-6 overall record.

Indiana (3-0), ranked No. 45 by the ITA, showcases its depth with Leslie Hureau ranked No. 91 nationally and the doubles partners of Kayla Fujimoto/Evgeniya Vertesheva and Hureau/Sophie Garre each tied for No. 68 by the ITA. The Hoosiers are in the midst of a eight match homestead, and have already tallied wins over Western Michigan, Xavier and Ball State this season. Last season, MU fell at Indiana, 6-1, with Gillian Hush earning the lone point of the match for Marquette.

The Golden Eagles (1-0) defeated UIC, 4-3, in its season opener Sunday afternoon, sweeping doubles play and earning singles wins by Olga Fischer, Gillian Hush and Christina Ruiz. Kelly Barry, who fell at the No. 1 singles position against UIC, is ranked No. 103 nationally after winning eight fall matches.

 

 

ONLINE AUCTIONS

bid today online auctions