Women's Tennis
Women's Tennis Closes Out Regular Season this Weekend

Christina Ruiz

Christina Ruiz

April 15, 2010

MILWAUKEE - The Marquette women's tennis team will close out the regular season taking on No. 22 DePaul and No. 5 Notre Dame in Notre Dame, Ind. this weekend. The Golden Eagles will play DePaul on Saturday, April 17 at 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT and Notre Dame on Sunday, April 18 at 11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT. The Golden Eagles (12-11) look to add key wins before seeding for the BIG EAST Tournament is decided.

Marquette is coming off a 5-2 win over Rutgers in its last time out on April 10. Led by sophomore Gillian Hush's 18-5 dual singles record, the Golden Eagles are 1-3 this season against ranked opponents. Marquette defeated then-No. 68 Binghamton, 5-2, in early March.

DePaul, ranked No. 22 nationally by ITA, has won six matches in a row, including 7-0 sweeps over Cincinnati and Rutgers. Junior Selma Salkovic and classmate Katarina Milinkovic have recorded 21 and 20 overall singles wins, respectively. Salkovic has paired with Anna Redecsi in doubles to earn a No. 16 national ranking. The duo owns a 26-5 overall record, including a 15-2 mark at No. 1.

The reigning BIG EAST Champion, No. 5 Notre Dame (17-3), has five singles players with double-digit win total this season led by the 17-3 dual record of senior Cosmina Ciobanu. The doubles team of sophomore Kristy Frilling and senior Kali Krisik are 16-0 at the No. 1 spot in the dual season, and ranked No. 3 in the nation. Frilling is ranked No. 15 nationally by ITA, while Christine McGaffigan is No. 119.

Following Sunday's match, the Golden Eagles will return to Milwaukee before traveling back to Notre Dame for the BIG EAST Championships April 21-25. The winner will earn the BIG EAST's automatic berth in the 2010 NCAA Tournament.

 

 

Auctions
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Big East NCAA Marquette University Learfield