MU Men's and Women's Tennis Earn ITA All-Academic Honors

July 25, 2016

Release courtesy of BIG EAST Conference

NEW YORK – A total of 13 BIG EAST squads, eight women’s and five men’s, earned All-Academic Team distinction from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) on Friday. Among the 13 teams, 71 student-athletes were named ITA Scholar-Athletes for the 2015-16 season.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2015 and spring 2016).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

More than 4,200 scholar-athletes were recognized across all divisions, along with over 700 all-academic teams.

Of the eight women’s teams honored, DePaul, Georgetown and St. John’s had a league-best seven scholar-athletes. A total of 43 BIG EAST women earned the ITA’s academic distinction. On the men’s side, Creighton led the way with eight, followed by seven from DePaul. Twenty eight BIG EAST men were named scholar-athlete by the ITA.

Seven of the 12 2016 Women’s Tennis All-BIG EAST Team honorees were named ITA Scholar-Athlete including: DePaul’s Patricia Lancranjan, Rebeca Mitrea and Yuliya Shupenia; Georgetown’s Risa Nakagawa and Victoire Sapperstein, St. John’s Anna Morozova and Seton Hall’s Hannah Liljekvist. From the 2016 Men’s All-BIG EAST Team, four were named ITA Scholar-Athlete: DePaul’s Sten Leusink, Marquette’s Daniel Fernandez and ST. John’s Elio Livi and Vaidik Munshaw.



2016 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Teams

Men (5): Creighton, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, St. John’s

Women (8): Butler, Creighton, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, St. John’s and Seton Hall


2016 ITA Scholar-Athletes – Women’s Teams

Butler (5)

Angela Avgerinos

Kailey Eaton

Jocelyn Koester

Baily Padgett

Callie Schmit


Creighton (5)

Samantha Anderson

Claire Embree

Simone Hussussian

Karlin Naslund

Darby Rosette


DePaul (7)

Marina Cozac

Jarret Fisher

Patricia Lancranjan

Rebeca Mitrea

Yuliya Shupenia

Zaina Sufi

Milica Tesic


Georgetown (7)

Sophia Barnard

Madeline Foley

Sydney  Goodson

Liselot Koenen

Risa Nakagawa

Victoire Sapperstein

Daphne de Chatellus


Marquette (2)

Erin Gebes

Aleeza Kanner


Providence (3)

Amanda Pitocco

Alana Prinos

Risa Takenaka


St. John’s (7)

Delia Arranz

Jaide Collins

Stephanie Elgegren

Olaya Inclan

Anna Morozova

Irina Preotescu

Zofina Stanisz


Seton Hall (5)

Anna Fajnorova

Julia Keenan

Katie Kim

Isabell Klingert

Hannah Liljekvist



2016 ITA Scholar-Athletes – Men’s Teams

Creighton (8)

Aaron Chalstrom

Quinn Dippel

Jake Glazer

Brooks Kendall

Michael Koch

Harrison Lang

Anthony Rauschenbach

Nicholas Thompson


DePaul (7)

Tim Corwin

Ivan Divkovic

Paul John

Kyle Johnson

Sten Leusink

Conor O'Meara

Max Renke


Georgetown (4)

Daniel Khanin

Ryan McElvenny

Jordon Porter

Michael Rechan


Marquette (3)

Daniel Fernandez

Kris Trukov

Andre Romanello


St. John's (6)

Lucas Hejhal

Elio Livi Belloso

Vaidik Munshaw

Alexander Roszkoski

Federico Ruiz

Dusan Vukicevic


About The ITA

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is the governing body of college tennis, overseeing men's and women's varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men's and women's varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court. For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at, like the ITA on Facebook or follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter.


bid today online auctions