Volleyball's Koberstein Earns 68th McCahill Award

Jan. 8, 2015

McCahill Award Winners

MILWAUKEE - Former Marquette University women's volleyball player Elizabeth Koberstein is the 68th recipient of the Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award, the highest honor bestowed upon an MU student-athlete.

The Madison, Wisconsin, native led the Golden Eagles to a pair of NCAA Championship appearances during her tenure at Marquette and left an indelible mark on the program.

"The McCahill Award is the pinnacle of what we expect Marquette student-athletes to represent on and off the court and I cannot think of a more fitting recipient than Elizabeth Koberstein," Marquette Vice President and Director of Athletics Bill Scholl said. "My time at Marquette has coincided with her final semester on campus as she concluded her bachelor's degree and it is clear the impact she had within the athletic department. Her commitment to Marquette, her teammates and the community is what makes Elizabeth so special."

A nursing major who graduated with a bachelor's degree in December 2014, she was a two-time BIG EAST All-Academic performer and the 2013-14 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award winner for women's volleyball. Koberstein also was recognized as a Senior CLASS Award candidate in 2013 and was inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma honor society.

"Elizabeth is a terrific player, a tremendous leader and a great person," first-year Marquette head women's volleyball coach Ryan Theis said. "I couldn't think of a more deserving person that I have worked with in my 15 years of coaching. We are grateful to have had the pleasure of having her around the program over the past year."



Koberstein, one of three two-time AVCA All-Americans in Marquette history, became the only MU student-athlete to earn mention on one of the AVCA's top three All-America teams with third team honors in 2013. She was also a third team Volleyball Magazine All-American and earned CoSIDA Academic All-America Second Team honors as a senior.

As a senior, the 2013 BIG EAST Player of the Year led the Golden Eagles to league-best marks in hitting percentage, assists and kills, while ranking third individually in the nation in assists per set at 12.18 per frame. She also led the Golden Eagles to their first BIG EAST regular season and tournament titles as a senior and was named the most outstanding player at the league tournament after pacing MU to wins over Butler and Creighton.

Koberstein ended her career fourth in Marquette history with 2,868 assists and was a two-time All-BIG EAST First Team selection with a winning percentage of .803 (53-13). MU won more than 90 percent of its matches in conference action (28-3) and advanced to a pair of league title matches.

Her setting also helped hitters Danielle Carlson, Holly Mertens, Autumn Bailey and Meghan Niemann to AVCA All-America honors in 2012 and 2013.

The McCahill Award was named after Captain Robert L. McCahill, a former Marquette student-athlete who gave his life for his country at the Battle of Iwo Jima during World War II in 1945. Established by his brother, Colonel William P. McCahill, also an MU student-athlete, the award was first presented in 1946 and has been awarded annually as the highest honor bestowed upon a Marquette student-athlete.

After Colonel McCahill's death in 1999, Marquette University officially renamed the award to recognize the lifetime accomplishments of both Captain Robert and Colonel William McCahill.

The award is given annually to a student-athlete who has achieved in athletics, scholarship, and service to the university.

Past recipients of the award include Olympic silver medalist John Bennett (1954), two-time NBA All-Star Don Kojis (1961), Naismith Award-winner Butch Lee (1978), and NCAA 10,000-meter run champion Keith Hanson (1986).

Koberstein joins four other women's volleyball players who have received the award, including M Club Hall of Fame member Kathy Andrykowski.

Past Marquette Women's Volleyball Winners:
1980 - Kathy Andrykowski
1991 - Sherri Goll
1998 - Martha Meyer
2007 - Jamie Mueller


bid today online auctions